Skip to content

Search the Roberta Bondar Site

Nunavut Day!

July 9 celebrates the passing of two Nunavut acts in Canadian Parliament – the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement Act and the Nunavut Act, 1993.
      Nunavut officially split from the Northwest Territories and became a Canadian territory on April 1, 1999.

Nunavut is the newest, largest, and northernmost territory of Canada that includes most of the Arctic Archipelago !


The official Nunavut flag

In the middle stands a red inuksuk – a traditional Inui land marker used to guide travellers and to mark sacred or special sites, its red colour linked to the Maple leaf. The blue star represents Niqirtsuituq – the North Star (currently Polaris) and the leadership of community elders. Blue colour also represents the riches of land, sea, and sky. The gold and white represent the brilliant short summer sun and snowy landscape for the remaining year.

Now for a challenge!

Stumped? Here’s some help!

B Bondar / Real World Content Advantage